Previous Keynote Speakers

The Illawarra Connection is known for bringing a diverse range of quality keynote speakers to the Region for events. 
A list of our speakers since December 2007 is below. 


October 2018
Tim Jarvis AM - Adventurer, Environmental Scientist
August 2018
Mark Bouris AM
June 2018
Nikki Gemmell - Author and Columnist
April 2018
Professor the Hon Gareth Evans AC QC
February 2018
Phil Glendenning AM - President of the Refugee Council of Australia
December 2017
Anthony Laye - Mentalist
October 2017
Martin O'Shannessy - Partner, OmniPoll
August 2017
Raelene Castle - CEO, Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs
July 2017 (luncheon)
Dr Simon Longstaff AO FCPA - Executive Director, The Ethics Centre
June 2017
John Borghetti AO - CEO and MD, Virgin Australia
April 2017
Michael Grinder - Expert in the science of non-verbal communication
February 2017
Chris Joscelyne - Managing Director, Australian Projects Pty Ltd 
December 2016
Greg Champion
October 2016
Unveiling of the 2016 Olympic Tile for the Olympic Tribute Wall
August 2016
Alex Frino - Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Global Strategy), UOW
July 2016 (luncheon)
Keith Suter - Futurist
June 2016
Chris Allen - Paratrooper, Policeman, Counter-terrorism Expert and Global Best-Selling Author
April 2016
Allan Mills – Partner, Finance and Performance Management, Deloitte
February 2016
Alex Malley – Chief Executive, CPA Australia
December 2015
Sam Bailey – Father, Pilot, Husband and Best-Selling Author
October 2015
The Hon Justice Jane Mathews AO – First Female NSW Supreme Court Judge
August 2015
Geraldine Doogue – Presenter, Journalist and Author
July 2015
Professor the Hon Stephen Martin – Chief Executive, Centre for Economic Development Australia
June 2015
Peter Baines – Founder of Hands Across the Water and Expert in Sustainable Leadership
April 2015
Peter Martin – Economic Editor, The Age
February 2015
Jerrold Cripps – Former Commissioner of the Independent Council against Corruption
December 2014
David Stephens – Singer / Cabaret Performer
October 2014
Ryan Campbell – Young Adventurer of the Year 2013
August 2014
Rod Matthews – Human Performance Specialist
June 2014
Her Excellency Professor The Honourable Marie Bashir – Governor of NSW
April 2014
Major General B.W. (Hori) Howard AO, MC, ESSM (Retd)
February 2014
Brendan Lyon – Chief Executive, Infrastructure Partnerships Australia
December 2013
Brendan Dowrick – Commonwealth Games Gymnastics Gold Medalist
October 2013
Dr Adrian (Adi) Paterson – CEO, Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO)
August 2013
Dr Alex Zelinsky – Chief Defence Scientist and Head of DSTO
May 2013
Kerry Chikarovski – Director, Chikarovski & Associates
April 2013
Sebastian Terry – Author of The 100 Things
February 2013
Professor Howard M. Armitage – Director of the Conrad Business, Entrepreneurship and Technology at the University of Waterloo, Canada
October 2012
General David Hurley, AC, DSC – Chief of the Australian Defence Force
August 2012
Dr Erica Smyth – Chair, Toro Energy Limited
June 2012
Jim Maxwell – ABC Grandstand Sports Presenter
April 2012
Jonathan Pain – Author of The Pain Report
February 2012
Martin O’Shannessy – CEO, Newspoll
December 2011
Professor Gerard Sutton AO – Vice Chancellor, University of Wollongong
October 2011
Hugh Mackay – Psychologist, Social Researcher and Writer
 June 2011
Ross Gittins OAM – Economics Journalist and Commentator
April 2011
John McGrath – CEO, McGrath Real Estate
February 2011
Mark McCrindle BSc (Psychology), MA, QMPR – Director, McCrindle Research
October 2010
The Hon John Fahey – President of the World Anti-Doping Agency
 August 2010
David Chalke – Leading Australian Social Analyst
June 2010
Arthur Sinodinos AO – Managing Director, Institutional Banking, Business Banking Australia
April 2010
Alex Frino PhD – CEO, Capital Markets CRC Limited
February 2010
Cheryl Kernot, Director of Social Enterprise: The Centre for Social Impact
December 2009
General Peter Cosgrove (Ret’d) AC, MC ndc (Ind), jssc, psc (US), Dip Mil Stud, FAICD
October 2009
Tim Costello – CEO, World Vision Australia
August 2009
Glenn Stevens – Governor, Reserve Bank of Australia
June 2009
Karin Moorehouse – TIGS Alumni
April 2009
Brendan Burkett PhD OAM – Paralympian and Commonwealth Games Medalist
February 2009
Colin Bloomfield – President of Illawarra Coal and Chair, NSW Minerals Council
December 2008
Andrew Horabin & Penny Hartgerink
October 2008
Tim Cope – National Geographic Adventure Honoree 2007 & Australian Adventurer of the Year 2006
August 2008
Robyn Moore – Communication Expert
June 2008
Panel of Speakers
April 2008
John Brogden – CEO, Manchester Unity Australia
February 2008
Candy Tymson – Leading Business Communicator and Author
December 2007
Dr J John Smith – Expert on Creativity and Lateral Thinking